Nicknames: I Rossoneri, Il Diavolo
Year Established: 1899
Home: San Siro (80,018 Spectators)
Owner: Fininvest
Manager: Vincenzo Montella

League: Serie A
Uniform Manufacturing: Adidas
Uniform Sponsor: Fly Emirates
Star Players: Riccardo Montolivo, Luiz Adriano, Jeremy Menez


18-time Serie A champion; 1901, 1906, 1907, 1950–51, 1954–55, 1956–57, 1958–59, 1961–62, 1967–68, 1978–79, 1987–88, 1991–92, 1992–93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2003–04, 2010–11
Five-time Copa Italia winner; 1966–67, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1976–77, 2002–03
6-time Supercoppa Italiana champion; 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994, 2004, 2011

Seven-time Champions League winner; 1962–63, 1968–69, 1988–89, 1989–90, 1993–94, 2002–03, 2006–07
UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup 2 times; 1967–68, 1972–73
UEFA Super Cup 5 times; 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007

Associazione Calcio Milan , often referred to as A.C. Milan or simply Milan, is an Italian football club based in Milan, Lombardy, which plays in Serie A. They play in red-and-black striped uniforms and white pants (sometimes black), thus nicknamed the rossoneri (“red-black”). Milan is the second most successful team in Italian football history, winning Serie A 18 times and the Italian Cup 5 times.

They are the most successful club in world football in terms of international cups along with Boca Juniors, with 18 official titles recognized by UEFA and FIFA. Milan has won a record three Intercontinental Cups and after its successor, the FIFA Club World Cup. Milan have also won the Europa League/Champions Cup seven times. second only to Real Madrid. They have also won the UEFA Super Cup record five times and the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup twice.

Milan won every major competition in which it had competed, except for the UEFA Europa League (in this competition they had lost two semi-finals in 1972 and in 2002). Domestically, with 18 league titles. Milan are the second most successful club in Serie A behind Juventus (31 titles), along with local rivals Inter. They have also won the Coppa Italia five times, as well as a record six Supercoppa Italiana victories.

The club was founded in 1899 as Milan Cricket and Football Club by Alfred Edwards and Herbert Kilpin, an English expatriate. As a tribute to its origins, Milan continues to use the English spelling of its city name (Milan) rather than using the Italian spelling Milano.

Milan’s home matches are played at the San Siro, also known as the Giuseppe Meazza Stadium. The stadium, along with Inter, is the largest in Italian football, with a total capacity of 80,018. [8] Inter are considered their biggest rivals, and the match between the two teams is called Derby della Madonnina, which is one of the most followed derbies in football. In 2010, Milan was the third most supported team in Italy, and the seventh most supported team in Europe, ahead of other Italian teams.

The owner of the club is former Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi, and the vice president is Adriano Galliani. The club is one of the richest and most valuable in Italian and world football. It was a founding member of the now-functioning G-14 group of Europe’s leading football clubs as well as its successor, the European Club Association.

AC Milan 2016-2017

22 – Gabriel (Brazil)
99 – Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)
35 – Alessandro Plizzari (Italy)

2 – Mattia De Sciglio (Italy)
13 – Alessio Romagnoli (Italy)
15 – Gustavo Gomez (Argentina)
17 – Cristian Zapata (Colombia)
20 – Ignazio Abate (Italy)
21 – Leonel Vangioni (Argentina)
29 – Gabriele Paletta (Italy)
31 – Luca Antonelli (Italy)
93 – Rodrigo Ely (Brazil)
96 – Davide Calabria (Italy)

5 – Giacomo Bonaventura (Italy)
10 – Keisuke Honda (Japan)
16 – Andrea Poli (Italy)
18 – Riccardo Montolivo (Italy)
23 – Jose Sosa (Argentina)
33 – Juraj Kucka (Slovakia)
73 – Manuel Locatelli (Italy)
91 – Andrea Bertolacci (Italy)
80 – Mario Pasalic (Croatia)
14 – Matias Fernandez (Chile)

7 – Luiz Adriano (Brazil)
8 – Suso (Spain)
9 – Gianluca Lapadula (Italy)
11 – M’Baye Niang (France)
70 – Carlos Bacca (Colombia)

Vincenzo Montella, a glimmer of hope

Vincenzo Montella’s arrival to the San Siro brings a glimmer of hope for the red-and-black squad, having in recent seasons Il Rossoneri struggled to climb the Serie A standings and should be willing to watch Juventus lift the trophy for four consecutive seasons. From Clarence Seedrof, Philppo Inzaghi to the latest Siniša Mihajlović to failed projects that have not developed over the past few seasons. AC Milan’s lack of funds and ability to use may be a major factor in AC Milan’s achievements such as freefall these days. But the green coach and the raw game scheme are also contributing factors to why AC Milan are also not leaving the midfield. Vincenzo Montella’s successful arrival at Sampdoria is expected to boost the spirits of AC Milan’s retainers and restore AC Milan’s glory days.

A passive transfer move again threatens AC Milan’s side

The departure of Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Thiago Silva in the 2011–12 season to PSG was a turning point for AC Milan until now, following the departure of Ibra and Silva, AC Milan struggled to win major and minor trophies. Do not compete for the title, to maintain the status as a big team AC Milan is increasingly difficult. One of the main factors why Ibrahimovic and Silva were released was because AC Milan objected to meeting the salaries of the two players.

After the departure of the two players, AC Milan began recruiting players in the middle of nowhere and rarely recruited star players. An unbalanced balance sheet is a major factor in why transfer funds are so limited. This is certainly in contrast to serie a club Juventus FC who are so keen to shop in the transfer market. The recruitment of Carlos Tevez and Gonzalo Higuain is an important indicator of how ambitious the turin home team is.

This will again hinder AC Milan if Barbara Berlusconi as CEO does not provide enough funds in the transfer market this time around, so it is no wonder that next season Juventus will again lift the trophy for the fifth time in a row.

Posted in Profile

More about: